2017-18 Design Studio Recap

2017-18 Design Studio Recap

Over 400 students, parents, faculty, and industry partners attended the Design Studio Showcase at Innovation Campus on Friday, April 27 to celebrate the conclusion of the 2017-18 Design Studio year. This year, 28 companies, non-profits, and researchers sponsored 29 projects for 168 students, including 66 Raikes School students, who gained unparalleled real-world, project management and development experience through the Design Studio capstone. 

The list of projects and award winners are below. Also check out the Design Studio Annual Report for detailed information about each project and to see a few more statistics about this impressive year.

Design Studio Partners and Projects 2017-2018

Sponsor Name

Project Name


Inventory Redistribution Optimization

CSG International

OpStats Modernization


Having A Conversation With Your Data




Ice Hockey

Realm Five

Operational Tracking

Lincoln Public Schools

Standard Response Protocol System


Report Groups

Mutual of Omaha

Fly On The Wall Fitness Data Collection App


4U, Four Year Academic Success Planner

NRC Health

Market Creator Tool


Vendor Vault

TD Ameritrade

Mutual Fund Share Class Conversions

Water for Food

Online Agricultural Data Management System

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Erudite Digital Learning Lab

Erudite First Steps To Reading Fluency

University of Nebraska-Lincoln INFEWS Game

Agpocalypse 2050

Nebraska Department of Transportation

Vehicle Crash Data Analysis Cube

Nebraska Department of Transportation

Transportation Information Portal

Nebraska Environmental Trust

NET Grants Management

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Sensi-Plate


TeamMates Mentoring of Lincoln

TeamMates Messenger

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Animal Science

Virtual Training System (VTS) for Meat Cutting

Westside Community Schools

Student Management System

WEX Health

Ad Hoc Reporting Tool

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Computer Science and Engineering

Exploring Virtual Reality

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Computer Science and Engineering


University of Nebraska-Lincoln Computer Science and Engineering

Sound Of Code

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Computer Science and Engineering

Mobile-Based Food Recognition System

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Computer Science and Engineering

Unmanned Aerial Systems for Prescribed Fires

Award Winners as selected by Design Studio Faculty and Staff

The Platinum and Gold Project Awards go to the highest performing teams in terms of product produced, sponsor feedback, and overall team dynamics. The Platinum Project Product Manager (PM) and Development Manager (DM) are given the honor of presenting their project in the Innovation Campus Auditorium to kick off the Design Studio Showcase.

Hall of Fame inductees are recognized for a second year of selection as a Rock Star. Rock Stars are selected for their outstanding work leading and contributing to the overall final product and growth of their team members.

This year added the Intern of the Year award. Interns are current freshmen in the Raikes School who apply for and are selected to serve on select teams during the spring semester. The Intern of the Year is selected for their outstanding individual contribution to a project/team.

All awards were announced at the Design Studio Internal Celebration, held at the Talon Room in Lincoln's Downtown on Thursday, April 19. The Internal Celebration is a fun culmination to a year's worth of hard work for our students and coaches.

Platinum Project: Water for Food

Project Name: Online Agricultural Data Management System

Students: Erica Dolph (PM), Daric Teske (DM), Matt Dottavio, Nathan Minchow, Jack Stobbe, Emma Clausen (Freshman Intern)

Coach: Joel Brehm (Bolero Information Systems)

Platinum winners

Other nominees: Fiserv, Hudl, Microsoft Dynamics

Gold Project: HATCX

Project Name: HATCX | THRIVE

Students: Bridget Bailey (PM), Jessee Zhang (DM), Sarah Kenny, Wyatt Osborn, Jacob Rehwoldt, Mary Clare Rogers (Freshman Intern), Emma Kate Stapp (Freshman Intern)

Coach: Nick Ebert (Spreetail)

Gold winners

Other nominees: Fiserv, Hudl, Microsoft Dynamics


Rock Stars

Hall of Fame: Daric Teske (Water for Food)

Rock Stars: Libby Gentry (Hudl), Jared Frenzel (Realm Five), Mary Candela (Microsoft Dynamics)

rock stars

Other nominees: Henry Recker (Buckle), Zach Warneke (CSG International), Jessee Zhang (HATCX) 

Intern of the Year

Winner: Lexie Karkazis (Mutual of Omaha)

intern winner

Other nominees: Luke Bogus (Hudl), Lara Quiring (Lincoln Public Schools) 

Call for Coaches

If you are a professional interested in volunteering to coach a team next year, please visit http://raikes.unl.edu/design-studio-coach.